Georgia Peanut Commission Nomination Meetings Set

By in ,
Georgia Peanut Commission Nomination Meetings Set
Released: Nov. 28, 2023

TIFTON, Ga – Nomination meetings to fill two positions on the Georgia Peanut Commission (GPC) Board of Directors will be held during simultaneous meetings on Dec. 13 at 2 p.m. in Colquitt and Swainsboro. The Georgia Farm Bureau Federation will conduct the meetings to fill terms, which expire Dec. 31 in the GPC Commission’s Districts One and Three.

The GPC District One nomination meeting will be held at 2 p.m. at the Miller County Farm Bureau Office at 314 East Bremond Street in Colquitt, Georgia, 39837. Tim Burch of Baker County is the incumbent in this district. Counties in District One include: Baker, Calhoun, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Miller, Mitchell and Seminole.

The District Three nomination meeting will be held at 2 p.m. at the Emanuel County Farm Bureau office at 320 Lambs Bridge Road in Swainsboro, Georgia, 30401. Joe Boddiford of Screven County is the incumbent in this district. Counties in District Three include: Appling, Bacon, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Candler, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Montgomery, Pierce, Richmond, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Washington and Wayne.

“Georgia Farm Bureau encourages peanut growers in these districts to attend the meeting for their district and participate in the nomination process for these Georgia Peanut Commission positions,” says Georgia Farm Bureau President Tom McCall. “The Georgia Peanut Commission plays an important role in promoting Georgia peanuts by supporting research that addresses production issues growers face, educating producers about peanut industry issues, and promoting the nutritional benefits of eating peanuts to consumers.”

The Georgia peanut production area is divided into five districts based on acreage distribution and geographical location with one board member representing each district. Each nominee must produce peanuts and live within the district for which he/she is nominated.

Any producer living in the district may be nominated or make nominations at the meeting. Incumbents are eligible for renomination. If more than one person is nominated, an election will be conducted by mail ballot. Commission by-laws state that a person must receive a majority of the votes cast for a position in order to be elected to the commission board.

If only one person qualifies for the position, no election is required, and the nominated person automatically becomes a member of the commission board. Commission members serve terms of three years. If multiple people are nominated for a GPC seat, then the current director will continue to serve until the election is completed.

To learn more about the GPC, visit


About Georgia Farm Bureau
Founded in 1937, Georgia Farm Bureau is the state’s largest general farm organization. The organization has 158 county offices, and its volunteer members actively participate in activities that promote agriculture awareness to their non-farming neighbors. Visit to learn more about GFB.

About Georgia Peanut Commission
The Georgia Peanut Commission was established in 1961 under the state’s Commodities Promotion Act. Today, the commission represents Georgia’s 4,500 peanut farmers and conducts programs in the areas of promotion, research and education. To learn more, visit or follow @gapeanuts on Facebook, Instagram or X, formerly known as Twitter.

(0 votes. Average 0 of 5)